Teresa

Kapplöpningen neråt

In geekfeminism on januari 31, 2010 at 11:14 e m

So. Ofta när man pratar om utrymmet tjejer tar i olika sammanhang (för litet) och vad som borde göras åt saken (tjejerna borde ta sig i kragen och ta för sig lite, jeez, det är ju inte som att någon hindrar dem) blir jag väldigt trött och vill hålla ett brandtal av något slag. Som tur har världens bästa bloggare, eller Sady Doyle som hon själv kallar sig, skrivit just ett sånt, som besparar mig besväret och dessutom råkar vara exceptionellt välfunnet, smart och roligt (om än deprimerande).

… if a girl seems not reliant enough on outside approval – if she doesn’t hate her body enough, if she’s too successful at getting guys to like her, if she’s not interested enough in getting guys to like her, if she thinks she’s smart or cool or worthwhile or pretty (or if she just is smart or cool or worthwhile or pretty, and it’s pronounced enough for the people around her to take notice) – then the wolves start circling. Because they’ve all been bullied, too; they’ve all been undermined; they’ve all made the mistake of standing out, at one point or another, and they’ve been punished for it. And now, because they feel like shit about themselves, you have to feel like shit, too. A girl who doesn’t feel like shit is a threat to the entire social order, the extensively complicated and crappy system whereby women have to earn their way into a pretense of self-esteem by getting enough approval from other girls or from other outside sources in general.

What girls learn to do, in order to survive in this particular dynamic, is to race each other to the bottom. It lasts for a lifetime. They maneuver, hiding the urge to matter and succeed under an appropriately self-loathing demeanor, so that they can get ahead and climb up without ever appearing to do it.

Allvarligt talat. Läs hela grejen.

  1. Ok, när jag läste Sady’s blogginlägg och det som hon länkade till som var upprinnelsen till det (http://www.shirky.com/weblog/2010/01/a-rant-about-women/) så fick jag någon slags uppenbarelse. När jag var liten så var jag otroligt självsäker, eller mer omedveten om att jag var något överhuvudtaget, omedveten om sociala spel, och därför framstod som väldigt styv i korken. Kan vi säga att tjejerna krossade mig. Om och om igen. Story of hela min grundskolegång.
    Så för mig är hela texten ett enda stort falla på plats. Och någonslags skuld över att vara fel och oomtyckt liksom föll av.

Kommentera

